Heartbreak Hotel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? …

See how the lilies of the field grow…

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness,

and all these things will be given to you as well.

Matthew 6:27,28 & 33  

~

**********************

Heartbreak Hotel

**********************

I’ve come to realize

that this heartbreak hotel

is not my forever home

just briefly here I’ll dwell

~

These bones become brittle

a breaking down abode

riddled with ‘carpenter ants’

osteoarthritis of the old

~

Meanwhile there’s a mansion

being prepared yonder skies

so attachment to this room

is neither profitable nor wise

~

As my decor grows passe

all my service for the Lord

will be in vogue forever

as I’m ushered through death’s door.

~

Wendy/2013

~

Last week I experienced a taste of what’s to come…

my foot decided to crank up the pain level.

I have osteoarthritis that I manage without medication.

By living moderately I can deal with the aches and pains (usually) until last week.

Thankfully I have an attentive doctor who immediately sent me for tests.

So far we’ve discovered nothing about the foot;

however, we found out I’m deficient in iron.

That explains why I feel like I’m walking uphill all the time;

so, it wasn’t just aging after all.

~

Take care of yourselves, dear friends.

There’s no point getting to the finish line ahead of schedule.

Threshold of Heaven Blessings ~ Wendy

~

(I hope that I made you smile; I’m hobbling about quite well now.)

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

16 thoughts on “Heartbreak Hotel

  1. “Heartbreak hotel”–what an accurate yet elegant way to describe this life, Wendy. I feel the weight of its breakdown today. Praying for you as you contend with OA and pain–God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

  2. Aches and pains are little reminders that we are well on our way to our real and true home, friend! I’m sorry that you have that load to bear – but not sorry that it turns your eyes to you Source of Joy!!

    • Thank you, Melody! Even our aches and pains can be used for good. Today I was almost glad for them since I was able to encourage a young poet who I learned of through this situation… God is good… all the time.

  3. Ah, yes, these tenements of clay, although I have nothing to complain of, like you and so many others, though you don’t complain. I like to think that if things improve with age, then I’m approaching magnificence. 🙂

    • Since I’ll be trading this ‘model’ in for a new one , I’ll hang in there while this vapor of a life fades as quickly as spring grass. Our God can use our ‘thorns in the flesh’ for good. 🙂

  4. Yes, what glory and joy and freedom awaits us! I am glad that you sought help and know what you are dealing with, and that you have had some relief since then. I’ve found that bodily suffering is one of the most humbling circumstances, that reminds me of how dependent I am on God for every single breath. None of us knows when the finish line will be in sight, and I am still praying and hoping to “bring along” more people to that mansion before my time is up! –Alison

    • Alison, I like your attitude about striving to bring others with you to heaven. My recent foot troubles opened doors to conversations with others that otherwise would not have happened. We must never lose sight of the great commission; our trials can be opportunities in disguise.

      It has been humbling to limp about in public. This week the limp seems to be gone if I don’t walk for too long. 😉

  5. As I read this I was reminded of a song called “A Living Prayer.” sung by Alison Krauss. Sometimes I feel a vague homesickness that serves as a reminder that we are sojourners whose citizenship is in Heaven.

    • How true that this is not our forever body or home. I know that I need reminders since I can get so busy and cozy in my own routine. God has plans for us to reach out to others; suffering can shake the salt out of the shaker. Thank you for your visit and comment.

Comments are closed.