Like a Tree

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

He will be like a tree

 planted by the water 

that sends out its roots by the stream.

It does not fear when heat comes;

its leaves are always green,

It has no worries in a year of drought

and never fails to bear fruit.

Jeremiah 17:8 

~

*****************

Like a Tree

*****************

Grow me Lord

 like a tree

that reaches upward to You

and outward to others

with roots anchored

securely and deeply

wrapped around

 your Rock of Truth

~

Grow me Lord

not rigid as a pharisee

or rootless

like a tossing tumbleweed

blown this way and that

by winds of time

but living and limber

moving graciously

 within your love as mine

~

Grow me Lord

 to thrive through

all seasons of your will

and like a tree

a place for sojourners to rest

 an aviary of nests

where newness blossoms

to encourage others

by your Spirit’s power

to walk with You

 in faithfulness.

~

Wendy/2013

~

There have been difficulties brought upon some Christians who are being lured into doctrines that focus not on the Solid Rock of Christ but on either words, works, or wonders.

If we stop and remember how Jesus reacted to both legalism and those who sought signs and wonders, we will recognize that to pursue either is not to seek God.

How sad that the watching world does not always find the church busy about the Father’s business. Let us love Jesus and set aside anything that hinders our wise walk with our Lord.

We are to worship God and not faith, not doctrine, or anything else.

~

On Christ the Solid Rock Blessings ~ Wendy

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~

17 thoughts on “Like a Tree

  1. I love your poems, Wendy–“grow me, Lord!” In the past 2 1/2 years my prayer has been, “fast-track me, Lord”–as I feel I have to hurry and catch up, for all the years wandering in the desert. Although He tells me “there’s no rush”, I do believe He’s answering my prayers BIG. What a wonderful God who loves us!! Sis, I hope you and your family are getting over your colds and feeling perkier–praying for all of you. God bless you–love, sis Caddo

    • Thank you, dear Caddo! Three are on the mend and two of us are just getting the symptoms now…

      God is so gracious to us. He remembers that we are but dust. I am starting to rest more in the thought that we are where we are supposed to be – right now. ( I hear whispers of a poem…) xo

  2. Your post today brought Psalm 1 to my mind: (here is verse 3) They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.

    Yesterday I helped my daughter with a tree/leaf project for her biology class. We found an amazing tree that was 24 1/2 feet around. I thought about all the years that tree has stood there by the water (Lake Michigan) — hundreds of years, maybe?

    • Thank you, Jill, for your lovely comment! I love those words in Psalm 1. I think of them when I see gentle green giants growing with roots embedded in a river’s side. (We, too, may be gentle giants spiritually when we imbibe Living Water.)

      What a wonderful memory you have planted with your daughter. She will remember it whenever she notices a giant in the forest.

  3. This visit has been a blessing, as always. Where V and I went to college, there were gigantic oak trees lining the campus, and they always made me think of what I want my faith to look and be like. When we stay rooted in God’s word, when His grace flows through us, when we reach up to Him in prayer, we will grow! I saw in one of the above comments that some of your household are under the weather–prayers for patience and quick recoveries! –Alison

    • Thank you, Alison, for your prayers. My body has been challenging this week with unusual aches and pains and the cold bug. It makes me realize how good I’ve had it… 🙂

      I love big old oak trees; that campus sounds so lovely!

Comments are closed.