My All in All

 ~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

and lean not on your own

understanding;

in all your ways acknowledge him,

and he will make your paths

straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6

~

******************

My All in All

******************

All my sins have been forgiven

All my guilt has been released

All my debts He’s paid out entirely

None but his grace saves you or me

~

All of my heart needs to trust Him

All my ways must acknowledge his Truth

All my ideas should submit to his leading

None of his guidance should be refused

~

All my circumstances require thanksgiving

All my days should be covered with prayer

All of what happens can be of benefit

None of God’s children are bereft of his care

~

Wendy/2013

~

Perhaps it is the age I am or maybe the fact that my husband and I are parenting teens

that I frequently wake up at 2:30 am wide awake.

So I turn my thoughts,

from the storm clouds that always seem ready to dump on my spirit,

to the Son of Light.

This refocusing fills me with his peace

and I fall back to sleep.

~

This past week the verses I have turned to are Proverbs 3:5-6

I was meditating on them one afternoon

and I noticed how the word all was used.

 Considering how all-encompassing God is…

it makes sense.

There is nothing half-hearted about our Creator.

Lukewarmness is despised by God…

He is repulsed by it (that Revelation verse is so sobering).

~

Imagine a half-hearted suitor pursuing the hand of a fair maiden?

How about a half-hearted superhero?

Would you vote for a half-hearted politician?

I wouldn’t  want a lukewarm surgeon removing a cancerous tumor from my body.

So why should God be interested in mediocre worship and service?

I am not talking about charismatic stuff – I am talking about the heart.

~

Here’s another verse that emphasizes the need for all:

_________________________________________________________________

  ‘Love the Lord your God

with all your heart

and with all your soul

and with all your strength

and with all your mind’

Luke 10:27 (in part)

_________________________________________________________________

I’ve noticed that his perfect peace does not fill me if I ask halfheartedly…

He answers when I seek him with all of my heart.

I needed this reminder.

 I need to remember it all the time.

I guess this is where those storms clouds I referred to come in handy…

they drive me to seek God with all I’ve got.

Have you got an all-encompassing verse you’d like to point out?

~

All Time Blessings ~ Wendy

~

PS – You may be curious to check out

how many times the word all shows up,

and is inferred,

in The Great Commission ( at the end of Matthew 28).

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8 thoughts on “My All in All

  1. Great post! I know when I’ve been half-hearted, because I give in too easily to fear, worry, selfishness, and everything that keeps me from seeing God’s perfection and grace. He can care for *all* of us, and we are to offer *all* of ourselves!

    One of the verses our family talked about before the kids went to bed had an “all” in it: “…I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice…” (Romans 12:1)

    The verse you quoted from Proverbs was part of a prayer I made earlier on behalf of a blogging friend who is struggling with some pretty big personal challenges. My greatest prayer for her was to come to truly know our God, who is indeed our all in all.

    One of my favorite songs that our college chapter of InterVarsity Christian Fellowship used to sing was All in All; I’m sure you know it too: “You are my strength when I am weak, you are the treasure that I seek, you are my all in all. Seeking you as a precious jewel; Lord to give up, I’d be a fool, you are my all in all. Jesus, Lamb of God, worthy is your name.”

    Have a lovely weekend, Wendy. My dear V is in the middle of a week of call, covering two hospitals. Today and yesterday have been long for him, so I’m praying he gets some rest and fun with the kids and me over the weekend! –Alison

    • I pray that your time together makes up for the time apart.

      “All in All” is one of my favorite songs too. It was on my mind when I wrote this post… 🙂

      I love how gracious our God is, in that He even does the work of drawing us closer. We are wise and blessed to respond to his gentle calling.

      Blessings to you, Alison, and your family ~ Wendy

Comments are closed.