At Day’s End

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:13

********************************

At Day’s End

********************************

At the end of the day

it’s our relationships that count

not a garage full of “toys”

nor our bank balance amount

~

Have we given of our time?

Do our children feel loved?

When they’ve grown up and left

what will their memories be of?

~

Let these times of shared respite

as we gather at the beach

spending our love on each other

show we’ve lived what we speak.

~

Wendy/2013

~

**************************************************************************

One of my sons asked me to take him to the beach recently.

 As I prepared to go, everyone else decided to come along too.

My eyes welled up with tears of thankfulness,

because we are blessed to have a family that wants to spend time together.

***************************************************************************

Togetherness Blessings ~ Wendy

***************************************************************************

~

Where is/was your family’s favorite place to hang out at?

~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

13 thoughts on “At Day’s End

  1. I spent many hours near the fishing hole with my boys, and throwing footballs, and watching movies….So glad I did!!!! Enjoy every moment with yours! Blessings! Laura

      • Oh how sweet of you, Wendy. I’m afraid my recognition of the day has been eclipsed by my more personal concern for my missing and endangered neighbor–it’s Day 10, still no sign of him.

      • I guess I forgot to tell you–I had posted a poem for him, early on, and dragged my Christian readers to see it and start praying. His name is Tyler, such a sweetie–I’m missing him terribly, but God has been faithful to lift my heart from the dark despair I was sinking into. Thanks so much for your prayers, Wendy!

  2. One of my favorite things is to drive in the car with my whole family … if we are driving far, we usually listen to a book on cd … A few years ago we traded our van for a five passenger vehicle … we don’t mind hanging out together like this … Thanks so much for this beautiful poem, Wendy!

    • Thank you, Heidi! “Hanging out” is precious regardless of the surroundings. Vehicles make good chat rooms. 🙂 Over the years, we have listened to many “Adventures in Odyssey,” in the van.

Comments are closed.