Flickering Candles

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live… That they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of  God. 

Titus 2:3-5 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Flickering Candles

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mother – I am frightened

as the candles on my cake

steadily increase in number

with each one that you bake

Each flame flickers brightly

illuminating the finish line

waving me past childhood

as womanhood draws nigh

I sense the ushering in

and feel like Peter Pan

wanting to flee growing up

and dwell in Neverland

Where cakes are but treats

and candles simply lights

not milestones of aging years

that fill my heart with fright

Yet, Mother, I look at you

and see that you’ve made peace

graciously with aging life

in the way that you speak

Candlelight reflects prettily

on your silver strands of hair

midst youthful lingering browns

brought by gifts and earthly cares

The shadows in your wrinkles

can’t hide the love lines on your face

nor the joys ahead unspeakable

in my own coming of age.

Wendy/2013

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Many things have changed in our culture even from when I was just coming of age. Unlike Neverland, our children will grow older along with us.  They will reach adulthood and become our friends and not just our children.

However, some things remain constant.  God never changes.  He desires mothers to instruct their daughters to live godly lives.  Fathers tend to teach more through example to both sons and daughters.

Remembering that children learn more from what we do than from what we say is a sobering reminder of the awesome privilege and responsibility we have as parents.  But if we are loving God with all of our heart, soul,  strength, and mind – we will be leading them aright!

PS – I wrote this the morning after our daughter’s recent birthday. She had come upstairs the night before to express concern about getting closer to adulthood. We both comforted and reassured her that it was a good thing to be growing up. She is honored that I wrote a poem about her. We are honored to be her parents.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Unchanging One,

Help us in this ever-changing world to keep our focus on You.  May our children yield to and trust in You also.

Putting my hope in Christ,

an aging parent

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Similarly, encourage the young men to be self-controlled. In everything set them an example by doing what is good. In your teaching show integrity, seriousness and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us.

Titus 2: 6-8

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ageless Blessings ~ Wendy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

24 thoughts on “Flickering Candles

  1. I love this! I’ve been thinking a lot about changing roles as both my mom and mother-in-law face bigger health challenges than in the past. Of course my children are still little, but I know those relationships will evolve, too, to meet the passing years. The greatest gift we can give our children is a solid foundation upon which to build their lives. I agree that our example speaks louder than our words–this is indeed sobering, and my children see sometimes hourly my need for the Holy Spirit’s work in my life. They see mistakes, sorrow, repentance, forgiveness, and I hope–growth! I pray that your daughter had a lovely birthday and that you and she can continue to grow closer to God, together! You are a wonderful mother for me to “observe” here; thank you for the ways in which you encourage me to stay on my knees and to live a life of praise! Blessings to you–Alison

    • Alison, I recently heard on a Christian radio program that a dad was told that he never looked so big and so good to his child than when he had sincerely apologized for a blunder. This really encouraged my heart… Thank you for your encouraging words, dear friend!

  2. I love your posts – your photography! As one who is himself rapidly approaching the finish line to this life, your post got me to thinking about it. Perhaps we should rather call it “the beginning line,” for truly it will be the beginning of eternal life. Yes, we have it already, by the grace of God, but there is SO MUCH of the old life still hanging on.
    Thanks again for your words of grace and encouragement. Truly, they are “ageless”!

    • Von, I agree with you that “the beginning line” seems more appropriate for a name of the end of earthly life. I won’t be missing my aging body nor any thorns in the flesh. 🙂 Thank you for your gracious words.

  3. Ah, yes – this life changes the rules just as we adjust to a new stage, keeping us on our ageing toes! a beautiful reflection upon this time of growing older, wiser, and passing good things on to our growing children…

  4. This is beautiful, Wendy. Just celebrated my 16 year old’s birthday. He didn’t want to light the candles on his cake…not sad to him…just wanted to get to the cake…I will always be about the candles.

  5. Hi Wendy, I love your poem. It expresses exactly how I felt when I turned 16 (long, long ago). Now that I’m officially old according to the government, I find that each age has its joys. I feel more creative and relaxed now than I did twenty years ago.
    Blessings,
    Mollie

    • Mollie, that is so encouraging to hear! I could use a bit more of that relaxed feeling. Thankfully I am letting tension drive me to prayer – and thus His peace. xo

  6. Wendy, I’m crying right now how beautiful, thanks for that it makes me feel good to be a mom right now. What a lovely memory for you and your daughter. Blessings, Shazza

    • Thank you, dear Shazza! My daughter is one of the best blessings of my life, and I pray that I raise her properly and with much love. You have done so well with your lovely daughter.

  7. Thank you, I agree our children teach us so much about ourselves and our Lord and life in general, I have tried to share my little trials and challenges so my few followers will be encouraged. I love writing my blog it so cathartic don’t you think? How could I not have been doing this before?

  8. What a wonderful tribute to your child … and what a great reminder to be a godly example to someone! I so appreciate you thoughts and the ways they lead us to the Lord.

  9. Thank you, Wendy, for sharing this, and helping us moms with our role in our daughter’s lives! God bless you and happy birthday to your sweet one!

Comments are closed.