A Fool’s Folly

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.”

  “The ground of a certain rich man produced a good crop. He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’

“Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.” ‘

Luke 12:15-19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~

A Fool’s Folly

~~~~~~~~~~~

Life is agreeable

he mused to himself

I’ll build colossal coffers

in which to store my wealth

And once they are built

I’ll enjoy secure repose

as my stash remains safe

and its value grows and grows

A bankrupt vagabond – his plans

he soon shall see

for his treasures are but trinkets

compared to what they ought to be

His death came soon and sudden

just as his stockpile was concealed

And he stood before the Judge

with his empty heart revealed!

Wendy/2013

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It is tempting, for those of us who do not think we are wealthy, to any degree, to dismiss this parable as having any pertinence to our lives; after all, we don’t have the luxury of taking it easy and being merry for long stretches of time.

But wait a minute – are we really as poor as we think we are?  I guess if we don’t compare our income and lifestyle to much of the rest of the planet, we might have an excuse to dismiss this text.

But I dare say that our generosity can be displayed through other means besides just monetary… time comes to mind.  Is my time his or do I hoard it for my closet full of hobbies?

I don’t need to earn my way to heaven; however, if I really believe I’m heading there, am I living like I believe it?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’

“This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God.”

Luke 12: 20-21

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Lord,

You know about my heart and my income.  All that I have and am is an open book that I ask, humbly, for You to edit according to your will. May my treasures be in heaven and may I learn more and more to be generous towards You. For your generosity poured over me can never be out given.  Amen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Heavenly Blessings ~ Wendy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 thoughts on “A Fool’s Folly

  1. I love the phrase, “bankrupt vagabond”, Wendy–and the image of folks standing before Him with their empty hearts revealed is very sad, isn’t it? I feel so wealthy, in spite of my actual financial picture–and have seen how God multiplies my resources, since I began tithing 2 years ago–it’s amazing! And as you say, it’s not just about money–the more we give, the more He blesses. May God fill you to overflowing today–love, sis Caddo

    • Yes, Caddo, this poem does not have a happy ending. It reminds me to aim for the words I long to hear one day, “Well done good and faithful servant…” We walk by faith and in His grace. Bless you dear sis! xo

  2. Wise words! I have seen many empty hearts behind lives full of material wealth. I pray that we will store up treasures in heaven with whatever earthly rewards we are given. When we remember that all of it belongs to God anyway, we can trust Him to provide for us and to bless others through us!

  3. Wendy, thank you for sharing this today … I think we often think judgement is still so far off … but we truly don’t know when our lives we be required of us… this is so very relevant to all of us at any moment! Thanks again for your loving heart toward the Savior and His Truth!!! and for sharing 🙂

    • Heidi, I am realizing more and more that it is a daily walk even in our giving and obedience to Him. It can even be broken down into a moment by moment walk. I struggle to be flexible and available for his Spirit to nudge me onto paths not of my own itinerary. I’m slowly learning and find blessing in these daily detours…

Comments are closed.