He Gently Leads Me

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The LORD is my shepherd,

I shall not be in want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,

he leads me beside quiet waters,

he restores my soul.

He guides me in paths of righteousness

for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley

of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

Psalm 23: 1-4

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

He Gently Leads Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m lead, by Him, so gently

and with the utmost care

to places that create in me

hope – rather than despair

His rod is used to guide me

I’m  blind without his cane

He nudges me – this way and that

onto higher and higher plains

It’s foolish when I long for

pastures not his own

for his lie by quiet waters

and his valleys lead me home

There’s a reason why I’m compared

to the simple, lowly lamb

for much like it- I’d wander

without the Shepherd’s guiding hand.

Wendy/2013

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When Ian and I first got married we had planned to have at least two children and to have them before I was thirty.  But since I was in recovery, from eating disorders in my twenties, our plan didn’t pan out.  My body was struggling to gain enough body fat and so my cycle was sporadic until my thirties.

Right when I was beginning to accept our fate (after a failed adoption), I read some encouraging words about prayer and decided to pray fervently for God to open my womb.

Within weeks of my starting to pray for children, my husband announced that a real estate agent had called and offered to give an appraisal of our home.  Ian was itching to move out to the countryside up island.  I was cozy and content where we were.

One thing led to another and we were offered a ridiculously high amount for our heritage home by a man who had just come into an inheritance.  He  loved our place and the gardens.  My heart sank until I listened to the Lord telling me that my husband’s dream of  getting out of the city was more important than a house.

We moved to a secluded acreage and I stayed at home while Ian worked in town.  My body responded to the healthy change and I gave birth to our first son after 12 years of marriage.  Our first-born was followed by our second son and our daughter until I was a 39-year-old mother of three kids five and under!

What I learned was that prayer opens the door wide for our Good Shepherd to lead us to where He wants us to be.  I also discovered that it doesn’t hurt to ask.  He is able to comfort me if his answer had not been yes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Surely goodness and love will follow me

all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the LORD

forever.

Psalm 23:6

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Good Shepherd Blessings ~ Wendy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Has God led you to a pasture you had not expected?  Did you hedge like I did?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

24 thoughts on “He Gently Leads Me

  1. Ah, your journey has been a long and difficult one. I read the pain between the lines – but also the grace, and hope, and restoration. You have been wise to follow your Shepherd’s gentle leading…

  2. Praise God!!! Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem and story! Thank you God for hope and sight.
    I am not married as yet but I am learning that when I am I have to trust my husband. And then BAM your story.
    It’s interesting that you posted this today. ( I’m at the age where I am having baby fever hehe) God bless you and your family! x

    • My husband let me have time to agree or disagree to accept the offer on our house… within minutes I knew what the right thing to do was, and I had peace. I am blessed to have a good-willed man who leads – but does not dictate. 🙂 Lele, I look forward to when you post wedding pictures!

      Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy xo

  3. I love coming here, Wendy~ you reminded me of His gentleness to me today. How His guiding hand holds me and how I can trust Him, even when I can’t seem so see a thing happening … I really needed to hear that today! Thank you dear poet-friend 🙂

    • It often does seem like not much is happening when we pray, until we look back in retrospect… Remembering his past faithfulness can encourage us to press on in prayer. Thank you, Heidi, for encouraging me with your comment. 🙂

      Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy xo

  4. What a beautiful reminder of God’s faithfulness to us when we seek Him in the things that matter to us. Thank you for sharing your story with us Wendy. Be blessed!

  5. Such a beautiful testimony, Wendy. He always know best, and as you say, it doesn’t hurt to ask for what we desire–He wants to hear from us always, no matter what’s on our heart and mind. I’m so thrilled for you and your family, and celebrate the great blessings with you. jael-caddo

    • I agree that He wants to hear from us – He desires a relationship with his children. Thank you for your kind words! 🙂

      Blessings dear sweet friend ~ Wendy xo (“A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”)

    • Von, no I have not read it – but I will check our church library. I’d love to gain more understanding of this wonderful Psalm. David had first hand experience to write from… (Thanks for making me smile!)

      Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy 🙂

      • If they don’t have it, go online and check out “Abe Books.” This is a wonderful and inexpensive source of new and used books. I use it a lot. Glad I could make you smile.

  6. I felt such *rest* reading this psalm and your poem. Of course I have read the psalm before, but God gives us fresh insight each time, because His Word is living and active in our hearts! Thank you for the way you wove your story into the psalm, for sharing the power of prayer and trust in God. I am so glad to be a “fellow sheep”, led by this wonderful Shepherd. I loved especially your line about being foolish to choose paths that are not His…we are truly like sheep. “Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it…prone to leave the God I love…” Praise God for his rod and staff, and for His everlasting love that runs out into the storm to rescue us!! Blessings–Alison

    • Alison, tonight my son took me for a walk on a river trail I had not been on before, and I had to let go and trust that he knew the way (He’s been on it often). It was nice to relax and believe he would lead us back to the road. This reminds me to ‘let go and let God!’

      Blessings dear friend & “fellow sheep” ~ Wendy xo

  7. This is so beautiful, Wendy. I was extra blessed by what you shared and when you said that if He had not answered your prayer, that you know He would have equally have comforted you. Thank you and God bless you and your family!

    • Thank you for noticing that, Debbie. I don’t have a “name it – claim it” theology and I like to respect his sovereignty in all things. God’s the Boss: We are not. But He is also the God of all comfort. 🙂

Comments are closed.