Songs of Eternity

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Songs of Eternity

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I see signs of eternity

written before my eyes

where stars cross the sea

and the sun dots the sky

I read words of eternity

etched in the earth

where winter writes decay

and spring spells rebirth

I feel the breath of eternity

When summer winds set sail

gently coaxing trees to dance

and clouds to glide like whales

I hear songs of eternity

in the ocean’s tide

a sacred, soothing, and soulful hymn

strumming on heartstrings inside.

Wendy/2013

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One of the glimpses of eternity I often think about is the one I see when I desire more time in a day. Clocks will be irrelevant in Heaven. My body gets tired by early evening, but my mind has a million things it still wants to accomplish. Life here on earth is simply a sample of what’s to come. It contains the only darkness that God’s children will experience and the only light that his detractors will ever see. His grace is abundant here.

Yet, we’ve only just begun to see his goodness and glory.  The Bible says that we have not even imagined what He has in store for those that love him.  Wow!  Now that’s a good reason to cast aside our idols and focus on eternity.

But we are flesh and blood.  We fail.  We fall.  And, yet, his grace picks us up and sets a glorious sunset before our eyes as He tucks us into bed.  In the morning He greets us with an equally exquisite sunrise reminding us that He is still in control and always has been.  Eternity is his time frame, and He desires for us to think in terms of it too.

When we are wronged by others, we, the forgiven, can also forgive those who have sought to harm us.  He has said that He will wipe away the tears – every last one.  Our sufferings here will be vastly overshadowed by the goodness of God in eternity.

Do you enjoy glimpses of eternity?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 1 John 5:11

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eternal Blessings ~ Wendy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

27 thoughts on “Songs of Eternity

  1. This poem was a breath of fresh air to me after reading so much of what is going on in the world. Thinking of this being “the only darkness we will know” is encouraging.

    Yes, I definitely enjoy seeing glimpses of eternity: a song comes to mind that A and I have been hearing on the car radio a lot, called “Where I Belong”. Some of the refrain says “all I know is I’m not home yet/ this is not where I belong. Take this world and give me Jesus…”. We can’t imagine how glorious heaven will be because we couldn’t possibly define it with our earthly words or images. I do believe that the great beauty in creation points to what heaven will be like.

    I am excited beyond words to see Jesus face to face, and V and I pray more and more these days for more hearts and eyes to open to the good news!

    I am reading through the psalms of ascent and am getting a lot of encouragement there! Blessings to you! –Alison

    • Thank you, Alison! I wrote this last week and had planned, since then, to post it today – now it seems timely considering yesterday’s painful events.

      There is so much I love about life – but I know it pales in comparison to what’s to come… I look forward to always feeling safe wherever I walk.

      Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy 🙂

  2. Oh yes, eternity … I sense small glimpses of eternity walking in the woods. I sense His presence near my quiet heart. I so enjoy being still and know that He is God… but then the day soaks it all out of me again … In eternity we will long no longer! What a day that will be … Thank you, Wendy, for sharing out of the abundance of your beautiful words and from His Truth!
    (And there we will actually have time – no retrains – to speak and marvel over our God together :-))

    • Heidi, I love the thought and sound of ” In eternity we will long no longer!” Sometimes during worship service I could just burst with the anticipation of being in my new body with no aches and pains in my flesh or spirit.

      Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy 🙂

  3. “spring spells rebirth.” Ah…. The lilac buds on the plant my wife loves, the buds on the magnolia next door, even our silly old forsythia which is as likely as not to have buds in November…. All point to that day, I hope not too far distant, when even the creation itself will be delivered from the curse of Adam, and you and I,dear lady, will no longer have to worry about running out of strength before we run out of things to do. Bless you for the post.

    • Von, I could have used a reborn body today to chase down and rescue a runaway dog. My husband and I managed to catch it – just hope I can walk tomorrow… The owner was really grateful. Yes, even creation waits!

      Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy 🙂

      • Well, you know how it is. They say, whoever “they” is, that you’re only as old as you feel. Some days, I’m 10; other days, 136. Grace, mercy and peace to you, dear lady.

  4. Wow, Wendy–this is just chock-full of gold nuggets; I was intent on every line–thank you for a vivid and beautiful glimpse of eternity’s riches. God bless you.

  5. This is beautiful Wendy… It brings this beautiful song to my mind. I pray it blesses you as much as your eternal poem blessed me…

    • Wow! This was so beautiful, Cheryl! My daughter and I loved it… she was humming along. Now I can’t wait for worship service tomorrow! 🙂 Hugs, dear friend.

  6. I’m feeling so grateful and encouraged tonight, reading your poem and devotion, Wendy. I have trouble seeing ‘long term’. So you have blessed me with these sights of eternity right here and now. God bless you for expanding my vision!

    • Debbie, I suspect that our enemy detests for us to remember our final destiny – and how his is not a happy ending! Joni Erickson Tada’s writing has helped me to see beyond the present.

  7. I enjoy glimpses of eternity and lately, I’ve thought of nothing else but seeing Him face to face! But like you rightly said, ‘we fail and we fall,’ shows our human frailty. I just can’t wait though! I love you Wendy, because you know how to SPEAK the heart of the FATHER.
    God bless you richly. 🙂

  8. Dear Wendy,
    I often find those glimpses of eternity when I’m creating or listening to music. As eternal beings in mortal bodies, our souls yearn for that “otherness.” My pastor did a sermon about the difference between “eternal life” and “life.” She thought there would have been a difference in the Greek word used for those two meanings. There isn’t! Life and eternal life (at least in the Gospel of John) are always the same word and it is always PRESENT TENSE! Eternal life starts now.

    I tried to describe the feeling of how the eternal can feel very much present and immediate at times in my post http://haskerj.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/i-am-a-little-church/
    i am a little church. (I’m including it here just in case you missed it. I know you have many, many followers and you are SO GOOD about replying to each person individually).

    Grace and Peace,
    Jill

    • Jill, that was an awesome post you did (I am a little church). Last night ,when my daughter was playing piano in our living room ,I was floating on the notes. On Sundays she plays my favorites. I never get tired of them, but she does… so I am treated with them on the weekends. 🙂 Music makes me think of eternity. You are blessed to be gifted with music!

Comments are closed.